The Legendarium

I tweeted/Facebook posted about this yesterday and wanted to give it some context beyond a few characters.

In searching for some context for the in-world writing I’ve been doing to help spark new content for my novel, I stumbled upon a word I should probably know well. “Legendarium” is not a new word: it has always been a term for a collecction of legends and was used by Tolkien to describe the writing that formed the backbone of his Middle Earth canon–a backbone readers wouldn’t see in-full until long after his passing.

I’m composing my legendarium right in Scrivener, alongside Draft 2 of my novel. If it were real (in the corporeal sense), this collection would have to be in a box and would include several individual volumes and who-knows-what-kind of curiosities. If you were to read it over my shoulder, however, you’d see stories, scenes, and a whole host of fictionalized content from newspaper articles to timelines. I’m hoping it’ll be a creative way to catalog my research and really bring this alternate 1869 to life.

And because you’re being kind enough to read, here’s my legendarium’s  current TOC (remember that this is all fictional):

  • The Book of Proof, a leatherbound journal, dated 1853, gathering evidence to contextualize strange and otherwise unexplained occurrences in the human world
  • Ferroequinology, “Chapter 4”, a timeline of the development of trains and the building of the Transcontinental Railroad
  • a collection of correspondence between the late Joseph North, professor of natural history and botany at Dartmouth College, and his colleagues in New England and abroad.
  • Local Rhyme, a small collection of nursery rhymes collected from the families of New Hampshire’s North Country, published in 1845
  • the US Congressional Record, 1840 to 1849.

I know, I know: I’m a total geek.

Leave a Reply

